Ex- Agent gets 30 month Prison for ties with Drug Cartels

July 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

Jovana Deas was sentenced for 30 months in prison for helping Mexican drug cartels by accessing sensitive information from police databases.  She used to pass on the restricted crime and immigration information ti her former brother-in-law, Miguel Angel Mendoza Estrada who associates the ties with Brazilian drug traffickers. She also was charged with obstruction and lying to investigators.

“I ask my family to forgive me. I’m sorry for what I did. It was a horrible mistake. I feel like I betrayed my country and my agency,” a sobbing Deas told a federal court in Tucson before U.S. District Judge Cindy K. Jorgenson handed down her sentence.

“I’m asking for your mercy your honor, so I can go back to my family.”

Deas career started in year 2003 with federal government and she was assigned Nogales port of entry as U.S. Customs and Border Protection inspector.

Between October 2004 and May of this year, 138 U.S. Customs and Border Protection officers and Border Patrol agents were arrested or indicted for corruption, including drug and illegal immigrant smuggling, money laundering and conspiracy, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Investigations by ICE’s Office of Professional Responsibility last year resulted in the arrest of 16 ICE and U.S. Customs and Border protection employees.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ex- Agent gets 30 month Prison for ties with Drug Cartels at Understanding US Citizenship.

meta

